Skip to content ↓


Key Stage 4 

BTEC Tech Award in Engineering

Students follow the Pearson BTEC Tech Award in Engineering specification.

Aims of the course:

The BTEC Tech Award in Engineering has been designed to develop the knowledge, skills and understanding required in the engineering sector and to focus on providing opportunities for engineering employees to achieve a nationally recognised level 2 vocationally specific qualification.  This will give learners opportunities to enter employment in the engineering sector or to progress to further education vocational qualifications such as the AQA Level 3 in Engineering.

Course content and assessment:

The Technical Award in Engineering consists of three components which focus on:

  • Exploring engineering sectors and design applications
    Weighting 30% internally assessed assignments
  • Investigating an engineering project
    Weighting 30% internally assessed assignments
  • Responding to an engineering brief
    Weighting 40% externally assessed task students create and engineered product from a given brief

Within Engineering at Key Stage 4 students are taken to HETA to complete some of the units in the specification, this gives students a wider range of skills and knowledge and also gives them a starting point for their future careers, particularly in choosing apprenticeships or Level 3 qualifications.

Sixth Form Courses 

Engineering Tech Level (AQA)

Aims of the course:

This course provides students with a broad basis of study for the engineering sector, including links with local manufacturers such as Swift Group.

Course Content:

The units studied include:

  • Materials Technology and Science (External exam)
  • Mechanical Systems (Internally assessed)
  • Engineering Design (External practical exam task)
  • Production and Manufacturing (Internally assessed)


Students beginning the A Level course in September 2017 will complete the linear A Level.  The course comprises:

  • 50% internally marked (Assignments which are externally sampled)
  • 50% externally marked examination